DeKalb County Government

Manuel J. Maloof Center 1300 Commerce Drive Decatur, Georgia 30030



Meeting Minutes

Tuesday, March 5, 2019 9:00 AM

Manuel J. Maloof Auditorium

Special Called Meeting

Commissioner Jeff Rader, Presiding Officer, District 2
Commissioner Steve Bradshaw, Deputy Presiding Officer, District 4

Commissioner Nancy Jester, District 1
Commissioner Jeff Rader, District 2
Commissioner Larry Johnson, District 3
Commissioner Steve Bradshaw, District 4
Commissioner Mereda Davis Johnson, District 5
Commissioner Kathie Gannon, Super District 6
Commissioner Lorraine Cochran-Johnson, Super District 7

Present 5 - Nancy Jester, Jeff Rader, Steve Bradshaw, Mereda Davis Johnson,

and Lorraine Cochran-Johnson

Administration: Michael Thurmond, CEO, Zachary Williams, Executive Assistant/ Chief Operating Office, Barbara Sanders-Norwood, County Clerk, Viviane Ernstes, County Attorney

2 - Larry Johnson, and Kathie Gannon

Work Session

Absent

- I. Committee of the Whole
- A. Committee Reports
- **B. Planning Department- Story Maps**
- C. MARTA Quarterly Briefing
- D. Review of the Proposed Executive Agenda for March 12, 2019
- E. Review of Board of Commissioners Preliminary Agenda
- F. Review/Recap of New Items for the BOC Agenda
- G. Items Previously Heard
- II. Special Call Meeting

2019-3477 Commission District(s): All

To Convene a Special Called Meeting

MOTION was made by Mereda Davis Johnson, seconded by Lorraine Cochran-Johnson, that this agenda item be approved to convene a Special Called Meeting. Commissioners Larry Johnson and Kathie Gannon were absent from the meeting. The motion carried by the following vote:

Yes: 5 - Commissioner Nancy Jester, Commissioner Jeff Rader, Commissioner Steve Bradshaw,

Commissioner Mereda Davis Johnson, and Commissioner Lorraine Cochran-Johnson

Absent: 2 - Commissioner Larry Johnson, and Commissioner

Kathie Gannon

2019-3478 Commission District(s): All

To Convene an Executive Session Meeting

MOTION was made by Mereda Davis Johnson, seconded by Lorraine Cochran-Johnson, that this agenda item be approved to convene an Executive Session Meeting. Commissioners Larry Johnson and Kathie Gannon were absent from the meeting. The motion carried by the following vote:

Yes: 5 - Commissioner Nancy Jester, Commissioner Jeff

Rader, Commissioner Steve Bradshaw, Commissioner Mereda Davis Johnson, and Commissioner Lorraine Cochran-Johnson

Absent: 2 - Commissioner Larry Johnson, and Commissioner

Kathie Gannon

2019-3479 Commission District(s): All

To Adjourn an Executive Session Meeting

MOTION was made by Steve Bradshaw, seconded by Lorraine Cochran-Johnson, that this agenda item be approved to adjourn an Executive Session Meeting. Commissioner Larry Johnson and Kathie Gannon were absent from the meeting. The motion carried by the following vote:

Yes: 5 - Commissioner Nancy Jester, Commissioner Jeff

Rader, Commissioner Steve Bradshaw, Commissioner Mereda Davis Johnson, and Commissioner Lorraine Cochran-Johnson

Absent: 2 - Commissioner Larry Johnson, and Commissioner

Kathie Gannon

POLICY OF NON-DISCRIMINATION ON THE BASIS OF DISABILITY IN COUNTY SERVICES.

DeKalb County Government does not discriminate against qualified individuals with disabilities or exclude them from participating in or receiving benefits of its services, programs, or activities, based on disability. Janet Essix, DeKalb County Government's Employee Relations Manager and ADA Coordinator, is designated to coordinate the County's compliance with Part 35 of the Department of Justice regulations regarding the Americans with Disabilities Act. Janet Essix may be contacted at 1300 Commerce Drive, 1st Floor, Decatur, GA 30030, 404.371.2309, to request information about access for persons with disabilities to County services, programs and activities, or to discuss a grievance regarding an impediment to such access. Ten days' notice is requested for special accommodations.

ADJOURNMENT:

There being no further official business, MOTION was made by Commissioner Mereda Davis Johnson and seconded by Commissioner Lorraine Cochran-Johnson to adjourn the March 5, 2019 Special Called Meeting at 11:12 a.m. Commissioners Larry Johnson and Kathie Gannon were absent from the meeting. The motion carried by the following vote:

Yes:

 5 - Commissioner Nancy Jester, Commissioner Jeff Rader, Commissioner Steve Bradshaw, Commissioner Mereda Davis Johnson, and Commissioner Lorraine Cochran-Johnson

Absent: 2 -

Commissioner Larry Johnson, and Commissioner Kathie Gannon

Jeff Rader Presiding Officer

Michael Thurmond Chief Executive Officer

Barbara Sanders-Norwood County Clerk