DeKalb County Government

Manuel J. Maloof Center 1300 Commerce Drive Decatur, Georgia 30030



Summary

Tuesday, March 27, 2018

6:30 PM

Maloof Auditorium

Board of Commissioners - Zoning Meeting

Commissioner Jeff Rader, Presiding Officer, District 2 Commissioner Steve Bradshaw, Deputy Presiding Officer, District 4

> Commissioner Nancy Jester, District 1 Commissioner Jeff Rader, District 2 Commissioner Larry Johnson, District 3 Commissioner Steve Bradshaw, District 4 Commissioner Mereda Davis Johnson, District 5 Commissioner Kathie Gannon, Super District 6 Commissioner Gregory Adams, Super District 7

Staff Present: Barbara Sanders-Norwood, County Clerk, Viviane Ernstes, Deputy County Attorney

2018-1899 Reconvene

Approved

Citizens may speak for or against an item that is considered by law to be a zoning ordinance and each side will have ten minutes to present its case. Citizens may also speak for or against an item that is placed on the public hearing agenda but is not a zoning ordinance. In that case, each side will have five minutes to present its case. In the event there is more than one speaker per side, speakers must divide their time in order to complete their full presentation within the ten-minute time allotment, or the five-minute time allotment. When the buzzer sounds to indicate that time has run out, the speaker will be expected to immediately cease speaking and to leave the podium area. Prior to speaking, please complete a speaker card and present it when approaching the podium. If you have any documents for the Commissioners, please provide 10 copies when approaching the podium. Seven copies are for the Commissioners and the remaining copies are for the planning director, the county attorney and the clerk. Applicants or citizens speaking in favor of an item shall speak first and applicants in zoning ordinance cases shall have the right to reserve time for rebuttal. Opponents of a zoning ordinance item shall have no right of rebuttal. Once the citizens have finished speaking, staff shall make a recommendation for action to the commission. At this point, citizens are no longer allowed to speak unless called to the podium by an individual commissioner to answer questions or provide information. When speaking, always talk directly into the microphone and begin by stating your name, address and the name of any organization you represent. Abusive, profane or derogatory language will not be permitted. Holding up signs, clapping and yelling to show support for or opposition to a speaker will not be permitted, but a show of hands or quietly standing will be permitted to show support for or opposition to a speaker's position.

Deferred Cases

D1. <u>2017-1204</u>

COMMISSION DISTRICT(S): 2 & 6

D1 CZ 17 21855 Board of Commissioners - The Madison.

Withdrawn without prejudice

D2. <u>2018-1508</u>

COMMISSION DISTRICT(S): 3 & 6 D2 Z 18 21945 Benjamin Leininger Deferred, until April 24, 2018 for Decision Only

D3.	<u>2017-1486</u>			
		COMMISSION DISTRICT(S): 4 & 7		
		D3 Z-18-21931 Gail Mooney		
		Withdrawn without prejudice		
New Cases				
N1.	<u>2018-1566</u>			
		COMMISSION DISTRICT(S): 2 & 6		
		N1 Z-18-22037 Jay Gipson.		
		Deferred for a full cycle, until May 22, 2018		
N2.	<u>2018-1590</u>			
		COMMISSION DISTRICT(S): 2 & 6		
		N2 SLUP-18-22035 Jay Gipson		
		Deferred for a full cycle, until May 22, 2018		
N3.	<u>2018-1591</u>			
		COMMISSION DISTRICT(S): 2 & 6		
		N3 SLUP-18-22038 Jay Gipson		
		Deferred for a full cycle, until May 22, 2018		
N4.	<u>2018-1592</u>			
		COMMISSION DISTRICT(S): 2 & 6		
		N4 SLUP-18-22039 Jay Gipson		
		Deferred for a full cycle, until May 22, 2018		
N5.	<u>2018-1637</u>			
		COMMISSION DISTRICT(S): 3 & 6		
		N5 SLUP 18 21929 Korey Meadows .		
		Denied		
N6.	<u>2018-1565</u>			
		COMMISSION DISTRICT(S): 3 & 6		
		N6 Sexton Enterprises, Inc.		
		Denied		

N7.	<u>2018-1562</u>	
		COMMISSION DISTRICT(S): 3 & 6
		N7 Z-18-21941 Sexton Enterprises Inc.
		Denied
N8.	<u>2018-1639</u>	
		COMMISSION DISTRICT(S): 3 & 7
		N8 SLUP 18 22029 Sunny Gangwal.
		Denied
N9.	<u>2018-1537</u>	
		COMMISSION DISTRICT(S): 4 & 6
		N9 Z 18 22040 LDG Development, LLC
		Deferred for two full cycles, until July 24, 2018
N10.	<u>2018-1638</u>	
		COMMISSION DISTRICT(S): 5 & 7
		N10 SLUP 18 22032 Marlyn Wallace.
		Approved per staff's 2 conditions
N11.	2018-1644	
		COMMISSION DISTRICT(S): 5 & 7
		N11 CZ 18 22045 Paul Girardeau
		Deferred for a full cycle, until May 22, 2018
N12.	<u>2018-1645</u>	
		COMMISSION DISTRICT(S): 3 & 6
		N12 TA 18 22052 BOC- Bouldercrest-Cedar Grove-Moreland Overlay Tier 5
		Deferred for a full cycle, until May 22, 2018

POLICY OF NON-DISCRIMINATION ON THE BASIS OF DISABILITY IN COUNTY SERVICES.

DeKalb County Government does not discriminate against qualified individuals with disabilities or exclude them from participating in or receiving benefits of its services, programs, or activities, based on disability. Janet Essix, DeKalb County Government's Employee Relations Manager and ADA Coordinator, is designated to coordinate the County's compliance with Part 35 of the Department of Justice regulations regarding the Americans with Disabilities Act. Janet Essix may be contacted at 1300 Commerce Drive, 1st Floor, Decatur, GA 30030, 404.371.2309, to request information about access for persons with disabilities to County services, programs and activities, or to discuss a grievance regarding an impediment to such access. Ten days' notice is requested for special accommodations.