The CONSTITUTION of the STATE OF MONTANA ARTICLE V – THE LEGISLATIVE SECTION 14 – DISTRICTING AND APPORTIONMENT

- (1) The state shall be divided into as many districts as there are senators and each district shall elect one senator. Each district shall consist of compact and contiguous territory. All districts shall be as nearly equal in population as is practicable.
- (2) In the legislative session following ratification of this constitution and thereafter in each session preceding each federal population census, a commission of five citizens, none of whom may be public officials, shall be selected to prepare a plan for redistricting and reapportioning the state into legislative and congressional districts. The majority and minority leaders of the legislature shall each select two commissioners. Within 20 days after their designation, the four commissioners shall select the fifth member, who shall secure as chairman of the commission. If the four members fail to select the fifth member within the time provided, a majority of the supreme court shall select him.
- (3) The commission shall submit its plan to the legislature at the first regular session after its appointment or after the census figures are available. Within 30 days after submission, the legislature shall return the plan to the commission with its recommendations. Within 30 days thereafter, the commission shall file its final plan with the secretary of state, and it shall become law. The commission is then dissolved.

https://courts.mt.gov/External/library/docs/72constit.pdf