DeKalb County Government

Manuel J. Maloof Center 1300 Commerce Drive Decatur, Georgia 30030



Meeting Minutes

Tuesday, December 7, 2021 9:00 AM

Manuel J. Maloof Auditorium

Special Called Meeting

Commissioner Steve Bradshaw, Presiding Officer, District 4 Commissioner Lorraine Cochran-Johnson, Deputy, District 7

Commissioner Robert Patrick, District 1
Commissioner Jeff Rader, District 2
Commissioner Larry Johnson, District 3
Commissioner Steve Bradshaw, District 4
Commissioner Mereda Davis Johnson, District 5
Commissioner Edward "Ted" Terry, Super District 6
Commissioner Lorraine Cochran-Johnson, Super District 7

Present

5 - Commissioner Robert Patrick, Commissioner Steve Bradshaw, Commissioner Mereda Davis Johnson, Commissioner Ted Terry, and Commissioner Lorraine Cochran-Johnson

Absent

2 - Commissioner Jeff Rader, and Commissioner Larry Johnson

Administration: Michael Thurmond, CEO, Zachary Williams, Executive Assistant/ Chief Operating Officer, Barbara Sanders-Norwood, County Clerk, Viviane Ernstes, County Attorney

Work Session

- I. Committee of the Whole
- A. Committee Reports
- **B. MARTA Quarterly Briefing**
- C. Review of the Proposed Executive Agenda for December 14, 2021
- D. Review of Board of Commissioners Preliminary Agenda
- II. Special Call Meeting

2021-3510

Commission District(s): All

To Convene a Special Called Meeting

MOTION was made by Lorraine Cochran-Johnson, seconded by Mereda Davis Johnson, that this agenda item be approved to convene a Special Call Meeting. Commissioner Jeff Rader and Commissioner Larry Johnson were absent from the meeting. The motion carried by the following vote:

Yes:

 5 - Commissioner Robert Patrick, Commissioner Steve Bradshaw, Commissioner Mereda Davis Johnson, Commissioner Ted Terry, and Commissioner Lorraine Cochran-Johnson

Absent:

2 - Commissioner Jeff Rader, and Commissioner Larry Johnson

2021-3511

To Convene an Executive Session Meeting

MOTION was made by Lorraine Cochran-Johnson, seconded by Mereda Davis Johnson, that this agenda item be approved to convene an Executive Session Meeting. Commissioner Jeff Rader and Commissioner Larry Johnson were absent from the meeting. The motion carried by the following vote:

Yes:

 5 - Commissioner Robert Patrick, Commissioner Steve Bradshaw, Commissioner Mereda Davis Johnson, Commissioner Ted Terry, and Commissioner Lorraine Cochran-Johnson

Absent:

2 - Commissioner Jeff Rader, and Commissioner Larry Johnson

2021-3512

Commission District(s): All

To Adjourn Executive Session.

MOTION was made by Robert Patrick, seconded by Ted Terry, that this agenda item be approved to adjourn an Executive Session Meeting. Commissioner Jeff Rader and Commissioner Larry Johnson were absent from the meeting. The motion carried by the following vote:

Yes:

 5 - Commissioner Robert Patrick, Commissioner Steve Bradshaw, Commissioner Mereda Davis Johnson, Commissioner Ted Terry, and Commissioner Lorraine Cochran-Johnson

Absent:

2 - Commissioner Jeff Rader, and Commissioner Larry Johnson

2021-3391

Commission District(s): 4 & 6

To consider consenting to the deannexation of property located at 4640 East

Ponce de Leon Avenue, Tucker, Georgia 30084.

MOTION was made by Ted Terry, seconded by Robert Patrick, that this agenda item be deferred to the next meeting, until December 14, 2021. The motion carried by the following vote:

Yes:

 4 - Commissioner Robert Patrick, Commissioner Steve Bradshaw, Commissioner Mereda Davis Johnson, and Commissioner Ted Terry

Absent:

 3 - Commissioner Jeff Rader, Commissioner Larry Johnson, and Commissioner Lorraine Cochran-Johnson

2021-3514

Commission District(s): All

Proposed approval of (1) the State of Georgia and Local Governments

Memorandum of Understanding Concerning National Distributor and Johnson &

Johnson Opioid settlements; (2) the Subdivision Distributor Settlement

Participation Form and (3) the Janssen Settlement Participation Form, for

proposed national Opioid Settlements with Settling Distributors and Janssen.

MOTION was made by Mereda Davis Johnson, seconded by Robert Patrick, that this agenda item be approved to authorize the County Attorney or her designee to sign the following three documents on behalf of DeKalb County: (1) the State of Georgia and Local Governments Memorandum of Understanding Concerning National Distributor and Johnson & Johnson Opioid settlements; (2) the Subdivision Distributor Settlement Participation Form and (3) the Janssen Settlement Participation Form. By signing these three documents, DeKalb County agrees to the material terms of the proposed National Opioid Settlement Agreements with the Settling Distributors and Janssen, if the State of Georgia elects to enter into these settlements. The motion carried by the following vote:

Yes:

5 - Commissioner Robert Patrick, Commissioner
 Steve Bradshaw, Commissioner Mereda Davis
 Johnson, Commissioner Ted Terry, and
 Commissioner Lorraine Cochran-Johnson

Absent:

2 - Commissioner Jeff Rader, and Commissioner Larry Johnson

POLICY OF NON-DISCRIMINATION ON THE BASIS OF DISABILITY IN COUNTY SERVICES.

DeKalb County Government does not discriminate against qualified individuals with disabilities or exclude them from participating in or receiving benefits of its services, programs, or activities, based on disability. Janet Essix, DeKalb County Government's Employee Relations Manager and ADA Coordinator, is designated to coordinate the County's compliance with Part 35 of the Department of Justice regulations regarding the Americans with Disabilities Act. Janet Essix may be contacted at 1300 Commerce Drive, 1st Floor, Decatur, GA 30030, 404.371.2309, to request information about access for persons with disabilities to County services, programs and activities, or to discuss a grievance regarding an impediment to such access. Ten days' notice is requested for special accommodations.

ADJOURNMENT:

There being no further official business, MOTION was made by Robert Patrick, seconded by Lorraine Cochran-Johnson, that this agenda item be approved to adjourn the December 7, 2021 Special Called Meeting at 12:08 p.m. The motion carried by the following vote:

Yes:

5 - Commissioner Robert Patrick, Commissioner Steve Bradshaw, Commissioner Mereda Davis Johnson, Commissioner Ted Terry, and Commissioner Lorraine Cochran-Johnson

Absent:

2 - Commissioner Jeff Rader, and Commissioner Larry Johnson

Stephen R. Bradshaw
Presiding Officer
Michael Thurmond
Chief Executive Officer
Darkana Candana Manasa d
Barbara Sanders-Norwood
County Clerk