DeKalb County Government

Manuel J. Maloof Center 1300 Commerce Drive Decatur, Georgia 30030



Meeting Minutes

Tuesday, October 4, 2022 9:00 AM

Manuel J. Maloof Auditorium

Special Called Meeting

Comm. Robert Patrick, Presiding Officer, District 1
Comm. Mereda Davis Johnson, Deputy Presiding Officer, District 5

Commissioner Robert Patrick, District 1
Commissioner Jeff Rader, District 2
Commissioner Larry Johnson, District 3
Commissioner Steve Bradshaw, District 4
Commissioner Mereda Davis Johnson, District 5
Commissioner Edward "Ted" Terry, Super District 6
Commissioner Lorraine Cochran-Johnson, Super District 7

Present

7 - Commissioner Robert Patrick, Commissioner Jeff Rader,
 Commissioner Larry Johnson, Commissioner Steve Bradshaw,
 Commissioner Mereda Davis Johnson, Commissioner Ted Terry,
 and Commissioner Lorraine Cochran-Johnson

Administration: Michael Thurmond, CEO, Zachary Williams, Executive Assistant/ Chief Operating Officer, Barbara Sanders-Norwood, County Clerk, Viviane Ernstes, County Attorney

Work Session

- I. Committee of the Whole
- A. Committee Reports
- B. Review of the Proposed Executive Agenda for October 11, 2022
- C. Review of Board of Commissioners Preliminary Agenda
- D. Review/Recap of New Items for BOC Agenda
- E. Items Previously Heard
- II. Special Call Meeting

2022-2315 Commission District(s): All

To Convene a Special Called Meeting

MOTION was made by Ted Terry, seconded by Steve Bradshaw, that this agenda item be approved to convene a Special Call Meeting. The motion carried by the following vote:

Yes: 7 - Commissioner Robert Patrick, Commissioner Jeff Rader, Commissioner Larry Johnson, Commissioner Steve Bradshaw, Commissioner Mereda Davis Johnson, Commissioner Ted Terry, and Commissioner Lorraine Cochran-Johnson

2022-2316 Commission District(s): All

To convene an Executive Session Meeting

MOTION was made by Ted Terry, seconded by Steve Bradshaw, that this agenda item be approved to convene an Executive Session Meeting. The motion carried by the following vote:

Yes: 7 - Commissioner Robert Patrick, Commissioner Jeff Rader, Commissioner Larry Johnson, Commissioner Steve Bradshaw, Commissioner Mereda Davis Johnson, Commissioner Ted Terry, and Commissioner Lorraine Cochran-Johnson

2022-2317 Commission District(s): All

To Adjourn an Executive Session Meeting

MOTION was made by Mereda Davis Johnson, seconded by Jeff Rader, that this agenda item be approved to adjourn an Executive Session Meeting. The motion carried by the following vote:

Yes: 7 - Commissioner Robert Patrick, Commissioner Jeff Rader, Commissioner Larry Johnson, Commissioner Steve Bradshaw, Commissioner Mereda Davis Johnson, Commissioner Ted Terry, and Commissioner Lorraine Cochran-Johnson

2022-2341 Commission District(s): All

Add an Item

MOTION was made by Mereda Davis Johnson, seconded by Ted Terry, that this agenda item be approved to add an item. The motion carried by the following vote:

Yes: 7 - Commissioner Robert Patrick, Commissioner Jeff Rader, Commissioner Larry Johnson, Commissioner Steve Bradshaw, Commissioner Mereda Davis Johnson, Commissioner Ted Terry, and Commissioner Lorraine Cochran-Johnson

2022-2318 Commission District(s): all

Proposed settlement of Baptiste v. DeKalb County Sheriff, Civil Action No.

15cv7680-2 in the Superior Court of DeKalb County.

MOTION was made by Mereda Davis Johnson, seconded by Ted Terry, that this agenda item be approved. The motion carried by the following vote:

Yes: 7 - Commissioner Robert Patrick, Commissioner Jeff Rader, Commissioner Larry Johnson, Commissioner Steve Bradshaw, Commissioner Mereda Davis Johnson, Commissioner Ted Terry, and Commissioner Lorraine Cochran-Johnson

2022-2340 Commission District(s): All

Add an Item

MOTION was made by Steve Bradshaw, seconded by Ted Terry, that this agenda item be approved to add an item. The motion carried by the following vote:

Yes: 7 - Commissioner Robert Patrick, Commissioner Jeff Rader, Commissioner Larry Johnson, Commissioner Steve Bradshaw, Commissioner Mereda Davis Johnson, Commissioner Ted Terry, and Commissioner Lorraine Cochran-Johnson 2022-2319 Commission District(s): Districts 4 and 6

To Amend Item 2020-0182, as previously adopted, to approve the conveyance of real property known as Lanier Gardens Park to the City of Avondale Estates via an intergovernmental agreement.

MOTION was made by Steve Bradshaw, seconded by Ted Terry, that this agenda item be deferred to the Board of Commissioners, due back on 10/11/2022. The motion carried by the following vote:

Yes: 7 - Commissioner Robert Patrick, Commissioner Jeff Rader, Commissioner Larry Johnson, Commissioner Steve Bradshaw, Commissioner Mereda Davis Johnson, Commissioner Ted Terry, and Commissioner Lorraine Cochran-Johnson

POLICY OF NON-DISCRIMINATION ON THE BASIS OF DISABILITY IN COUNTY SERVICES.

DeKalb County Government does not discriminate against qualified individuals with disabilities or exclude them from participating in or receiving benefits of its services, programs, or activities, based on disability. Janet Essix, DeKalb County Government's Employee Relations Manager and ADA Coordinator, is designated to coordinate the County's compliance with Part 35 of the Department of Justice regulations regarding the Americans with Disabilities Act. Janet Essix may be contacted at 1300 Commerce Drive, 1st Floor, Decatur, GA 30030, 404.371.2309, to request information about access for persons with disabilities to County services, programs and activities, or to discuss a grievance regarding an impediment to such access. Ten days' notice is requested for special accommodations.

ADJOURNMENT:

There being no further official business, MOTION was made by Lorraine Cochran-Johnson, seconded by Jeff Rader, that this agenda item be approved to adjourn the October 4, 2022 Special Called Meeting at 11:28 a.m. The motion carried by the following vote:

Yes: 7 - Commissioner Robert Patrick, Commissioner Jeff
Rader, Commissioner Larry Johnson,
Commissioner Steve Bradshaw, Commissioner
Mereda Davis Johnson, Commissioner Ted Terry,
and Commissioner Lorraine Cochran-Johnson

Robert Patri

Robert Patrick Presiding Officer

MOLD

Michael Thurmond Chief Executive Officer

Barbara Sanders (N/2, 2022 10:09 EDT)

Barbara Sanders-Norwood County Clerk