

DeKalb County **Roads and Drainage Division Public Works Department** Peggy V. Allen, Deputy Director, PW

MEMORANDUM

October 19, 2022

Steve Bradshaw TO: Michelle Butler, Esq., Procurement Manager - CIP, Purchasing & Contracting **THRU:** Rick Lemke, Director, PW FROM: Peggy V. Allen, DDPW, Roads and Drainage Lorraine Cochran-Johnson **SUBJECT:** Proposed Amendment/Change Order No. 2 to DeKalb County ITB No. 19- 101077 Pond Maintenance Services

Original Contract Term and Dollar Amount: August 19, 2019 through August 31, 2022 and \$2,000,000.00

Previous Changes to the Dollar Amount: Added \$760,000.00

Previous Changes to the Term: Extended 4 months to December 31, 2022

Current Cumulative Contract Term and Dollar Amount: Ends December 31, 2022 and \$4,243,473.30

Proposed Contract Term and Dollar Amount: Extend Time and Funds, extend 8 months to August 31, 2023 and additional \$1,700,000.00.

Detailed Description of Requested Changes: We are requesting a contract extension with additional funding for ITB No. 19-101077. The additional funding will be for CPA No. 1167995 with Executive Realty Solutions in the amount of \$800,000, for CPA 1167993 with ASAP Landscape in the amount of \$400,000, and for CPA 1167992 with Williams Icon in the amount of \$500,000. The additional funding and time will allow the contractors to continue to service County owned and maintained ponds.

Justification for the Proposed Changes and an Explanation of why the County should not consider a Competitive Bid: The Pond Maintenance Services contract addresses the need to protect local waterbodies from the harmful effects of stormwater pollution caused by stormwater runoff, reduce erosion, and prevent downstream flooding caused by an increase in upstream impervious surfaces. The contract extension with additional funding for the participants to ITB No. 19-101077 will help avoid any interruption of service to the over 1,000 ponds the county is responsible for maintaining, and until a new contract, currently in progress and evaluation underway, is awarded.

cc: Crystal Creekmore Sophia Thomas **Reginald Anderson** Michelle Smith

Chief Executive Officer

Michael Thurmond

Board of Commissioners

District 1 Robert Patrick

> District 2 Jeff Rader

District 3 Larry Johnson

District 4

District 5 Mereda Davis Johnson

District 6 Edward "Ted" Terry

District 7