DeKalb County Government

Manuel J. Maloof Center 1300 Commerce Drive Decatur, Georgia 30030



Meeting Minutes

Tuesday, June 16, 2020

9:00 AM

Manuel J. Maloof Auditorium

Special Called Meeting

Commissioner Steve Bradshaw, Presiding Officer, District 4 Commissioner Lorraine Cochran-Johnson, Deputy, District 7

Commissioner Nancy Jester, District 1 Commissioner Jeff Rader, District 2 Commissioner Larry Johnson, District 3 Commissioner Steve Bradshaw, District 4 Commissioner Mereda Davis Johnson, District 5 Commissioner Kathie Gannon, Super District 6 Commissioner Loraine Cochran-Johnson, Super District 7 Present7 - Commissioner Nancy Jester, Commissioner Jeff Rader,
Commissioner Larry Johnson, Commissioner Steve Bradshaw,
Commissioner Mereda Davis Johnson, Commissioner Kathie
Gannon, and Commissioner Lorraine Cochran-Johnson

Administration: Michael Thurmond, CEO, Zachary Williams, Executive Assistant/ Chief Operating Office, Barbara Sanders-Norwood, County Clerk, Viviane Ernstes, County Attorney

Work Session

- I. Committee of the Whole
- A. Committee Reports
- B. Review of the Proposed Executive Agenda for June 23, 2020
- C. Review of Board of Commissioners Preliminary Agenda
- D. Review/Recap of New Items for the BOC Agenda
- E. Items Previously Heard
- **II. Special Call Meeting**
 - 2020-0674 Commission District(s): All To Convene a Special Called Meeting MOTION was made by Commissioner Jeff Rader, seconded by Commissioner Mereda Davis Johnson, that this agenda item be approved to convene a Special Call Meeting The motion carried by the following vote:
 - Yes: 7 Commissioner Nancy Jester, Commissioner Jeff Rader, Commissioner Larry Johnson, Commissioner Steve Bradshaw, Commissioner Mereda Davis Johnson, Commissioner Kathie Gannon, and Commissioner Lorraine Cochran-Johnson

2020-0675	Commission District(s): All To Convene an Executive Session Meeting MOTION was made by Commissioner Jeff Rader, seconded by Commissioner Mereda Davis Johnson, that this agenda item be approved to convene an Executive Session Meeting. The motion carried by the following vote:	
	Yes:	 7 - Commissioner Nancy Jester, Commissioner Jeff Rader, Commissioner Larry Johnson, Commissioner Steve Bradshaw, Commissioner Mereda Davis Johnson, Commissioner Kathie Gannon, and Commissioner Lorraine Cochran-Johnson
	Commission District(s): All To Adjourn an Executive Session Meeting MOTION was made by Commissioner Nancy Jester, seconded by Commissioner Mereda Davis Johnson, that this agenda item be approved to adjourn an Executive Session Meeting. Commissioner Lorraine Cochran-Johnson was out of the room and not voting. The motion carried by the following vote:	
	Yes:	 6 - Commissioner Nancy Jester, Commissioner Jeff Rader, Commissioner Larry Johnson, Commissioner Steve Bradshaw, Commissioner Mereda Davis Johnson, and Commissioner Kathie Gannon
	Absent:	1 - Commissioner Lorraine Cochran-Johnson

POLICY OF NON-DISCRIMINATION ON THE BASIS OF DISABILITY IN COUNTY SERVICES.

DeKalb County Government does not discriminate against qualified individuals with disabilities or exclude them from participating in or receiving benefits of its services, programs, or activities, based on disability. Janet Essix, DeKalb County Government's Employee Relations Manager and ADA Coordinator, is designated to coordinate the County's compliance with Part 35 of the Department of Justice regulations regarding the Americans with Disabilities Act. Janet Essix may be contacted at 1300 Commerce Drive, 1st Floor, Decatur, GA 30030, 404.371.2309, to request information about access for persons with disabilities to County services, programs and activities, or to discuss a grievance regarding an impediment to such access. Ten days' notice is requested for special accommodations.

There being no further official business, MOTION was made by Commissioner Mereda Davis Johnson, seconded by Commissioner Nancy Jester, that this agenda item be approved to adjourn the June 16, 2020 Special Called Meeting at 11:52a.m. Commissioner Lorraine Cochran-Johnson was out of the room and not voting. The motion carried by the following vote:

Yes:

 6 - Commissioner Nancy Jester, Commissioner Jeff Rader, Commissioner Larry Johnson, Commissioner Steve Bradshaw, Commissioner Mereda Davis Johnson, and Commissioner Kathie Gannon

Absent: 1 - Commissioner Lorraine Cochran-Johnson

en R. Bradshaw

Presiding Officer

MAQ

Michael Thurmond Chief Executive Officer

Barbara Sanders-Norwood County Clerk