# **DeKalb County Government**

Manuel J. Maloof Center 1300 Commerce Drive Decatur, Georgia 30030



## **Meeting Minutes**

Tuesday, August 4, 2020 9:00 AM

Manuel J. Maloof Auditorium

## **Special Called Meeting**

Commissioner Steve Bradshaw, Presiding Officer, District 4 Commissioner Lorraine Cochran-Johnson, Deputy, District 7

Commissioner Nancy Jester, District 1
Commissioner Jeff Rader, District 2
Commissioner Larry Johnson, District 3
Commissioner Steve Bradshaw, District 4
Commissioner Mereda Davis Johnson, District 5
Commissioner Kathie Gannon, Super District 6
Commissioner Loraine Cochran-Johnson, Super District 7

#### **Present**

7 - Commissioner Nancy Jester, Commissioner Jeff Rader, Commissioner Larry Johnson, Commissioner Steve Bradshaw, Commissioner Mereda Davis Johnson, Commissioner Kathie Gannon, and Commissioner Lorraine Cochran-Johnson

Administration: Michael Thurmond, CEO, Zachary Williams, Executive Assistant/ Chief Operating Office, Barbara Sanders-Norwood, County Clerk, Viviane Ernstes, County Attorney

#### **Work Session**

- I. Committee of the Whole
- A. Committee Reports
- B. CARES Act Update Small Business Loan Program
- C. Review of the Proposed Executive Agenda for August 11, 2020
- D. Review of Board of Commissioners Preliminary Agenda
- E. Review/Recap of New Items for the BOC Agenda
- F. Items Previously Heard
- II. Special Call Meeting

2020-0907 Commission District(s): All

To Convene a Special Called Meeting

**MOTION** was made by Commissioner Lorraine Cochran-Johnson, seconded by Commissioner Nancy Jester, that this agenda item be approved to convene a Special Call

Meeting. The motion carried by the following vote:

Yes:

7 - Commissioner Nancy Jester, Commissioner Jeff Rader, Commissioner Larry Johnson, Commissioner Steve Bradshaw, Commissioner Mereda Davis Johnson, Commissioner Kathie Gannon, and Commissioner Lorraine

Cochran-Johnson

### 2020-0908 Commission District(s): All

To Convene an Executive Session Meeting

MOTION was made by Commissioner Nancy Jester, seconded by Commissioner Lorraine Cochran-Johnson, that this agenda item be approved to convene an Executive Session Meeting. The motion carried by the following vote:

Yes:

 7 - Commissioner Nancy Jester, Commissioner Jeff Rader, Commissioner Larry Johnson,
 Commissioner Steve Bradshaw, Commissioner Mereda Davis Johnson, Commissioner Kathie Gannon, and Commissioner Lorraine Cochran-Johnson

## **2020-0909** Commission District(s): All

To Adjourn an Executive Session Meeting
MOTION was made by Commissioner Lorraine
Cochran-Johnson, seconded by Commissioner Nancy Jester,
that this agenda item be approved to adjourn an Executive
Session Meeting. Commissioner Jeff Rader did not return after
the Executive Session ended and Commissioner Larry Johnson
was absent during this vote. The motion carried by the
following vote:

Yes:

 5 - Commissioner Nancy Jester, Commissioner Steve Bradshaw, Commissioner Mereda Davis Johnson, Commissioner Kathie Gannon, and Commissioner Lorraine Cochran-Johnson

**Absent:** 

2 - Commissioner Jeff Rader, and Commissioner Larry Johnson

### **2020-0910** Commission District(s): All

Add an Item

MOTION was made by Commissioner Mereda Davis Johnson, seconded by Commissioner Kathie Gannon, that this agenda item be approved to add an item. Commissioner Jeff Rader did not return after the Executive Session ended. The motion carried by the following vote:

Yes:

 6 - Commissioner Nancy Jester, Commissioner Larry Johnson, Commissioner Steve Bradshaw, Commissioner Mereda Davis Johnson, Commissioner Kathie Gannon, and Commissioner Lorraine Cochran-Johnson

**Absent:** 1 - Commissioner Jeff Rader

**2020-0911** Commission District(s): All

Proposed settlement of lawsuit filed Plaintiffs Tareon Kelsey, Angelique Hill, Yukeisha Reid, Sterling Afflick, Yousef Amercani, Stephanie Burns, Kelli Burress, Loletha Hale, Thomas Moore, Robert Peale, Enrico Ponder, John Pursley, Brianna Trimble, Jari Turkia, and Kaila Burke against DeKalb County, Francine Crowell, Charlene Marilla, Cheryl Andrews, Tameka Gates-Harper, Kura Brown, Wanda Barker, Durdrick Mitchell, Merna Banks, Phyllis Ward, Ava Sykes, Stephanie Hurley, Schanavie Taylor, Jacqueline Tumbling, and Carlotta Warner, pending in the U.S. District Court for the Northern District of Georgia, Civil Action No. 1:15cv02357. MOTION was made by Commissioner Mereda Davis Johnson, seconded by Commissioner Lorraine Cochran-Johnson, that this agenda item be to approve a total payment of \$775,000 to settle the lawsuit filed by Plaintiffs Tareon Kelsey, Angelique Hill, Yukeisha Reid, Sterling Afflick, Yousef Amercani, Stephanie Burns, Kelli Burress, Loletha Hale, Thomas Moore, Robert Peale, Enrico Ponder, John Pursley, Brianna Trimble, Jari Turkia, and Kaila Burke, pending against DeKalb County, Francine Crowell, Charlene Marilla, Cheryl Andrews, Tameka Gates-Harper, Kura Brown, Wanda Barker, Durdrick Mitchell, Merna Banks, Phyllis Ward, Ava Sykes, Stephanie Hurley, Schanavie Taylor, Jacqueline Tumbling, and Carlotta Warner, as Civil Action No. 1:15-cv-02357 in the U.S. District Court for the Northern District of Georgia. To resolve this lawsuit, the County will pay the total sum of \$775,000 to the Plaintiffs and their attorneys in return for and conditioned on their dismissal with prejudice of all claims in this lawsuit and execution of a settlement agreement with release and waiver of claims satisfactory to the County Attorney. The County Attorney or her designee is authorized to execute the settlement agreement. Commissioner Jeff Rader did not return after the Executive Session ended. The motion carried by the following vote:

Yes: 6 - Commissioner Nancy Jester, Commissioner Larry

Johnson, Commissioner Steve Bradshaw,

Commissioner Mereda Davis Johnson,

Commissioner Kathie Gannon, and Commissioner

Lorraine Cochran-Johnson

**Absent:** 1 - Commissioner Jeff Rader

#### POLICY OF NON-DISCRIMINATION ON THE BASIS OF DISABILITY IN COUNTY SERVICES.

DeKalb County Government does not discriminate against qualified individuals with disabilities or exclude them from participating in or receiving benefits of its services, programs, or activities, based on disability. Janet Essix, DeKalb County Government's Employee Relations Manager and ADA Coordinator, is designated to coordinate the County's compliance with Part 35 of the Department of Justice regulations regarding the Americans with Disabilities Act. Janet Essix may be contacted at 1300 Commerce Drive, 1st Floor, Decatur, GA 30030, 404.371.2309, to request information about access for persons with disabilities to County services, programs and activities, or to discuss a grievance regarding an impediment to such access. Ten days' notice is requested for special accommodations.

ADJOURNMENT:

There being no further official business, MOTION was made by Commissioner Nancy Jester, seconded by Commissioner Kathie Gannon, that this agenda item be approved to adjourn the July 7, 2020 Special Called Meeting at 11:16 a.m. Commissioner Jeff Rader did not return after the Executive Session ended The motion carried by the following vote:

Yes:

6 - Commissioner Nancy Jester, Commissioner Larry Johnson, Commissioner Steve Bradshaw, Commissioner Mereda Davis Johnson, Commissioner Kathie Gannon, and Commissioner Lorraine Cochran-Johnson

**Absent:** 1 - Commissioner Jeff Rader

Stephen R. Bradshaw Presiding Officer

Michael Thurmond Chief Executive Officer

Barbara Sanders-Norwood County Clerk