DeKalb County Government

Manuel J. Maloof Center 1300 Commerce Drive Decatur, Georgia 30030



Meeting Minutes

Thursday, August 27, 2020 11:30 AM

Manuel J. Maloof Auditorium

Special Called Meeting

Commissioner Steve Bradshaw, Presiding Officer, District 4 Commissioner Lorraine Cochran-Johnson, Deputy, District 7

Commissioner Nancy Jester, District 1
Commissioner Jeff Rader, District 2
Commissioner Larry Johnson, District 3
Commissioner Steve Bradshaw, District 4
Commissioner Mereda Davis Johnson, District 5
Commissioner Kathie Gannon, Super District 6
Commissioner Loraine Cochran-Johnson, Super District 7

Present

7 - Commissioner Nancy Jester, Commissioner Jeff Rader,
 Commissioner Larry Johnson, Commissioner Steve Bradshaw,
 Commissioner Mereda Davis Johnson, Commissioner Kathie
 Gannon, and Commissioner Lorraine Cochran-Johnson

Administration: Michael Thurmond, CEO, Zachary Williams, Executive Assistant/ Chief Operating Office, Barbara Sanders-Norwood, County Clerk, Viviane Ernstes, County Attorney

Work Session

- I. Committee of the Whole
- II. Special Call Meeting
- A. Committee Reports
- B. Decide DeKalb Quarterly Review
- C. Georgia State University Dollar Store Study
- D. CARES Act Spending Overview
- E. Review of the Proposed Executive Agenda for September 8, 2020
- F. Review of Commissioners' Preliminary Agenda for September 8, 2020

2020-1067 Commission District(s): All

To Convene a Special Called Meeting

MOTION was made by Commissioner Nancy Jester, seconded by Commissioner Larry Johnson, that this agenda item be approved to convene a Special Call Meeting. Commissioner Lorraine Cochran-Johnson and Commissioners Kathie Gannon were absent during this vote. The motion carried by the following vote:

Yes: 5 - Commissioner Nancy Jester, Commissioner Jeff

Rader, Commissioner Larry Johnson, Commissioner Steve Bradshaw, and Commissioner Mereda Davis Johnson

Absent: 2 - Commissioner Kathie Gannon, and Commissioner

Lorraine Cochran-Johnson

2020-1068 Commission District(s): All

Table an Item

MOTION was made by Commissioner Jeff Rader, seconded by Commissioner Kathie Gannon, that this agenda item be approved to table an item for 30 minutes, returning at 12:30 p.m. The motion carried by the following vote:

Yes:

 7 - Commissioner Nancy Jester, Commissioner Jeff Rader, Commissioner Larry Johnson,
 Commissioner Steve Bradshaw, Commissioner Mereda Davis Johnson, Commissioner Kathie Gannon, and Commissioner Lorraine Cochran-Johnson

2020-1071 Commission District(s): All

Take an Item Off the Table

MOTION was made by Commissioner Jeff Rader, seconded by Commissioner Kathie Gannon, that this agenda item be approved to take an item off the Table. The motion carried by the following vote:

Yes:

 7 - Commissioner Nancy Jester, Commissioner Jeff Rader, Commissioner Larry Johnson,
 Commissioner Steve Bradshaw, Commissioner Mereda Davis Johnson, Commissioner Kathie Gannon, and Commissioner Lorraine Cochran-Johnson **2020-1075** Com

Commission District(s): All

Eleven (11) IGAs for the distribution and use of funds received from the federal government pursuant to the CARES Act between DeKalb County, the Tax Commissioner, in his official capacity and the City of Avondale Estates, the City of Chamblee, the City of Clarkston, the City of Decatur, the City of Doraville, the City of Dunwoody, the City of Lithonia, the City of Pine Lake, the City of Stonecrest, the City of Stone Mountain, and the City of Tucker MOTION was made by Commissioner Nancy Jester, seconded by Commissioner Larry Johnson, that this agenda item be approved. Transfer \$26,319,562 of the CARES Act's Coronavirus Relief Fund from DeKalb County to the cities located entirely within its geographical boundaries and distribute said funds in the manner prescribed within the IGAs and allow the Chief Executive Officer to execute all necessary documents. The motion carried by the following vote:

Yes:

 7 - Commissioner Nancy Jester, Commissioner Jeff Rader, Commissioner Larry Johnson,
 Commissioner Steve Bradshaw, Commissioner Mereda Davis Johnson, Commissioner Kathie Gannon, and Commissioner Lorraine Cochran-Johnson

POLICY OF NON-DISCRIMINATION ON THE BASIS OF DISABILITY IN COUNTY SERVICES.

DeKalb County Government does not discriminate against qualified individuals with disabilities or exclude them from participating in or receiving benefits of its services, programs, or activities, based on disability. Janet Essix, DeKalb County Government's Employee Relations Manager and ADA Coordinator, is designated to coordinate the County's compliance with Part 35 of the Department of Justice regulations regarding the Americans with Disabilities Act. Janet Essix may be contacted at 1300 Commerce Drive, 1st Floor, Decatur, GA 30030, 404.371.2309, to request information about access for persons with disabilities to County services, programs and activities, or to discuss a grievance regarding an impediment to such access. Ten days' notice is requested for special accommodations.

ADJOURNMENT:

There being no further official business, MOTION was made by Commissioner Mereda Davis Johnson, seconded by Commissioner Larry Johnson, that this agenda item be approved to adjourn the August 27, 2020 Special Called Meeting at 1:15 p.m. The motion carried by the following vote:

Yes:

7- Commissioner Nancy Jester, Commissioner Jeff
Rader, Commissioner Larry Johnson,
Commissioner Steve Bradshaw,
Commissioner Mereda Davis
Johnson, Commissioner Kathie
Gannon,and Commissioner Lorraine
Cochran-Johnson

Stephen R. Bradshaw Presiding Officer

Michael Thurmond Chief Executive Officer

Baron Ande Bas

Barbara Sanders-Norwood County Clerk

08.27.20 SCMMinutes

Final Audit Report 2020-09-11

Created: 2020-09-04

By: Monika Brooks (mlbrooks@dekalbcountyga.gov)

Status: Signed

Transaction ID: CBJCHBCAABAAd8KsOekJ3b7q6jH14Gcabs9cGvnexKnG

"08.27.20 SCMMinutes" History

Document created by Monika Brooks (mlbrooks@dekalbcountyga.gov) 2020-09-04 - 4:00:39 PM GMT- IP address: 204.120.180.4

- Document emailed to Kirsten Wilborn (kwilborn@dekalbcountyga.gov) for signature 2020-09-04 4:01:28 PM GMT
- Email viewed by Kirsten Wilborn (kwilborn@dekalbcountyga.gov) 2020-09-08 4:00:38 PM GMT- IP address: 204.120.180.4
- Document e-signed by Kirsten Wilborn (kwilborn@dekalbcountyga.gov)

 Signature Date: 2020-09-08 4:01:28 PM GMT Time Source: server- IP address: 204.120.180.4
- Document emailed to Barbara Sanders (bhsander@dekalbcountyga.gov) for signature 2020-09-08 4:01:29 PM GMT
- Email viewed by Barbara Sanders (bhsander@dekalbcountyga.gov) 2020-09-11 3:06:36 PM GMT- IP address: 104.47.64.254
- Document e-signed by Barbara Sanders (bhsander@dekalbcountyga.gov)

 Signature Date: 2020-09-11 3:06:59 PM GMT Time Source: server- IP address: 174.218.145.136
- Signed document emailed to Monika Brooks (mlbrooks@dekalbcountyga.gov), CHENAY BROWN (cbrown@dekalbcountyga.gov), Kirsten Wilborn (kwilborn@dekalbcountyga.gov), and Barbara Sanders (bhsander@dekalbcountyga.gov)

2020-09-11 - 3:06:59 PM GMT