DeKalb County Government

Manuel J. Maloof Center 1300 Commerce Drive Decatur, Georgia 30030



Meeting Minutes

Tuesday, February 2, 2021 9:00 AM

Manuel J. Maloof Auditorium

Special Called Meeting

Commissioner Steve Bradshaw, Presiding Officer, District 4 Commissioner Lorraine Cochran-Johnson, Deputy, District 7

Commissioner Robert Patrick, District 1
Commissioner Jeff Rader, District 2
Commissioner Larry Johnson, District 3
Commissioner Steve Bradshaw, District 4
Commissioner Mereda Davis Johnson, District 5
Commissioner Ted Terry, Super District 6
Commissioner Loraine Cochran-Johnson, Super District 7

Present

7 - Commissioner Robert Patrick, Commissioner Jeff Rader, Commissioner Larry Johnson, Commissioner Steve Bradshaw, Commissioner Mereda Davis Johnson, Commissioner Ted Terry, and Commissioner Lorraine Cochran-Johnson

Administration: Michael Thurmond, CEO, Zachary Williams, Executive Assistant/ Chief Operating Office, Barbara Sanders-Norwood, County Clerk, Viviane Ernstes, County Attorney

Work Session

- I. Committee of the Whole
- A. Committee Reports
- B. Decide DeKalb Quarterly Briefing
- D. Review of the Proposed Executive Agenda for February 9, 2021
- E. Review of Board of Commissioners Preliminary Agenda
- F. Review/Recap of New Items for the BOC Agenda
- G. Items Previously Heard
- II. Special Call Meeting

2021-2134 Commission District(s): All

To Convene a Special Called Meeting

MOTION was made by Commissioner Lorraine Cochran-Johnson, seconded by Commissioner Ted Terry, that this agenda item be approved to convene a Special Call Meeting. Commissioners Larry Johnson was absent during this vote. The motion carried by the following vote:

Yes: 6 - Commissioner Robert Patrick, Commissioner Jeff

Rader, Commissioner Steve Bradshaw, Commissioner Mereda Davis Johnson,

Commissioner Ted Terry, and Commissioner

Lorraine Cochran-Johnson

Absent: 1 - Commissioner Larry Johnson

2021-2135 Commission District(s): All

To Convene an Executive Session Meeting
MOTION was made by Commissioner Lorraine
Cochran-Johnson, seconded by Commissioner Robert Patrick,
that this agenda item be approved. to convene an Executive
Session Meeting. The motion carried by the following vote:

Yes:

 7 - Commissioner Robert Patrick, Commissioner Jeff Rader, Commissioner Larry Johnson,
 Commissioner Steve Bradshaw, Commissioner
 Mereda Davis Johnson, Commissioner Ted Terry,
 and Commissioner Lorraine Cochran-Johnson

2021-2136 Commission District(s): All

To Adjourn an Executive Session Meeting
MOTION was made by Commissioner Lorraine
Cochran-Johnson, seconded by Commissioner Larry Johnson,
that this agenda item be approved to adjourn an Executive
Session Meeting. The motion carried by the following vote:

Yes:

 7 - Commissioner Robert Patrick, Commissioner Jeff Rader, Commissioner Larry Johnson,
 Commissioner Steve Bradshaw, Commissioner
 Mereda Davis Johnson, Commissioner Ted Terry,
 and Commissioner Lorraine Cochran-Johnson

POLICY OF NON-DISCRIMINATION ON THE BASIS OF DISABILITY IN COUNTY SERVICES.

DeKalb County Government does not discriminate against qualified individuals with disabilities or exclude them from participating in or receiving benefits of its services, programs, or activities, based on disability. Janet Essix, DeKalb County Government's Employee Relations Manager and ADA Coordinator, is designated to coordinate the County's compliance with Part 35 of the Department of Justice regulations regarding the Americans with Disabilities Act. Janet Essix may be contacted at 1300 Commerce Drive, 1st Floor, Decatur, GA 30030, 404.371.2309, to request information about access for persons with disabilities to County services, programs and activities, or to discuss a grievance regarding an impediment to such access. Ten days' notice is requested for special accommodations.

ADJOURNMENT:

There being no further official business, MOTION was made by Commissioner Mereda Davis Johnson, seconded by Commissioner Lorraine Cochran-Johnson, that this agenda item be approved to adjourn the February 2, 2021 Special Called Meeting at 12:24 p.m. The motion carried by the following vote:

Yes:

7- Commissioner Robert Patrick, Commissioner Jeff Rader, Commissioner Larry Johnson, Commissioner Steve Bradshaw, Commissioner Mereda Davis Johnson, Commissioner Ted Terry, and Commissioner Lorraine Cochran-Johnson

> Steppen R. Bradshaw Presiding Officer

Michael Thurmond Chief Executive Officer

Barbara Sanders-Norwood County Clerk