# **DeKalb County Government**

Manuel J. Maloof Center 1300 Commerce Drive Decatur, Georgia 30030



### **Meeting Minutes**

Tuesday, May 19, 2020 9:00 AM

Manuel J. Maloof Auditorium

## **Special Called Meeting**

Commissioner Steve Bradshaw, Presiding Officer, District 4 Commissioner Lorraine Cochran-Johnson, Deputy, District 7

Commissioner Nancy Jester, District 1
Commissioner Jeff Rader, District 2
Commissioner Larry Johnson, District 3
Commissioner Steve Bradshaw, District 4
Commissioner Mereda Davis Johnson, District 5
Commissioner Kathie Gannon, Super District 6
Commissioner Loraine Cochran-Johnson, Super District 7

**Administration:** Michael Thurmond, CEO, Zachary Williams, Executive Assistant/ Chief Operating Office, Barbara Sanders-Norwood, County Clerk, Viviane Ernstes, County Attorney

**Present** 

7 - Commissioner Nancy Jester, Commissioner Jeff Rader,
 Commissioner Larry Johnson, Commissioner Steve Bradshaw,
 Commissioner Mereda Davis Johnson, Commissioner Kathie
 Gannon, and Commissioner Lorraine Cochran-Johnson

#### **Work Session**

- I. Committee of the Whole
- A. Committee Report
- **B. MARTA Quarterly Briefing**
- C. Dr. S. Elizabeth Ford -COVID-19 Response
- D. Review of the Proposed Executive Agenda for May 26, 2020
- E. Review of Board of COmmissioners Preliminary Agenda
- F. Review/Recap of New Items for the BOC Agenda
- G. Items Previously Heard
- II. Special Call Meeting
- A. Executive Session

2020-0553 Commission District(s): All

To Convene a Special Called Meeting

MOTION was made by Commissioner Lorraine Cochran-Johnson, seconded by Commissioner Mereda Davis Johnson, that this agenda item be approved to convene a Special Call Meeting. The motion carried by the following vote:

Yes:

 7 - Commissioner Nancy Jester, Commissioner Jeff Rader, Commissioner Larry Johnson,
 Commissioner Steve Bradshaw, Commissioner
 Mereda Davis Johnson, Commissioner Kathie
 Gannon, and Commissioner Lorraine
 Cochran-Johnson 2020-0554 Commission District(s): All

To Convene an Executive Session Meeting
MOTION was made by Commissioner Lorraine
Cochran-Johnson, seconded by Commissioner Mereda Davis
Johnson, that this agenda item be approved to convene an
Executive Session Meeting. The motion carried by the
following vote:

Yes:

 7 - Commissioner Nancy Jester, Commissioner Jeff Rader, Commissioner Larry Johnson,
 Commissioner Steve Bradshaw, Commissioner Mereda Davis Johnson, Commissioner Kathie Gannon, and Commissioner Lorraine Cochran-Johnson

**2020-0555** Commission District(s): All

To Adjourn an Executive Session Meeting

MOTION was made by Commissioner Nancy Jester, seconded by Commissioner Lorraine Cochran-Johnson, that this agenda item be approved to adjourn an Executive Session Meeting. The motion carried by the following vote:

Yes:

 7 - Commissioner Nancy Jester, Commissioner Jeff Rader, Commissioner Larry Johnson,
 Commissioner Steve Bradshaw, Commissioner Mereda Davis Johnson, Commissioner Kathie Gannon, and Commissioner Lorraine Cochran-Johnson

2020-0556 Commission District(s): All

To Adjourn a Special Called Meeting

There being no further official business, MOTION was made by Commissioner Nancy Jester, seconded by Commissioner Kathie Gannon, that this agenda item be approved to adjourn the May 9, 2020 Special Called Meeting at 12:12 p.m. The motion carried by the following vote:

Yes:

ADJOURNMENT:

There being no further official business, MOTION was made by Commissioner Nancy Jester, seconded by Commissioner Kathie Gannon, that this agenda item be approved to adjourn the May 9, 2020 Special Called Meeting at

12:12 p.m. The motion carried by the following vote:

Yes:

7 - Commissioner Nancy Jester, Commissioner Jeff
Rader, Commissioner Larry Johnson,
Commissioner Steve Bradshaw, Commissioner
Mereda Davis Johnson, Commissioner Kathie
Gannon, and Commissioner Lorraine
Cochran-Johnson

Stephen R. Bradshaw
Presiding Officer
Michael Thurmond
Chief Executive Officer
Barbara Sanders-Norwood
County Clerk

#### ADJOURNMENT:

There being no further official business, MOTION was made by Commissioner Nancy Jester, seconded by Commissioner Kathie Gannon, that this agenda item be approved to adjourn the May 9, 2020 Special Called Meeting at

12:12 p.m. The motion carried by the following vote:

Yes:

7 - Commissioner Nancy Jester, Commissioner Jeff
Rader, Commissioner Larry Johnson,
Commissioner Steve Bradshaw, Commissioner
Mereda Davis Johnson, Commissioner Kathie
Gannon, and Commissioner Lorraine
Cochran-Johnson

Stephen R. Bradshaw

Presiding Officer

Michael Thurmond Chief Executive Officer

Barbara Sanders-Norwood

County Clerk