DeKalb County Government

Manuel J. Maloof Center 1300 Commerce Drive Decatur, Georgia 30030



Meeting Minutes

Tuesday, December 7, 2021

9:00 AM

Manuel J. Maloof Auditorium

Special Called Meeting

Commissioner Steve Bradshaw, Presiding Officer, District 4 Commissioner Lorraine Cochran-Johnson, Deputy, District 7

Commissioner Robert Patrick, District 1 Commissioner Jeff Rader, District 2 Commissioner Larry Johnson, District 3 Commissioner Steve Bradshaw, District 4 Commissioner Mereda Davis Johnson, District 5 Commissioner Edward "Ted" Terry, Super District 6 Commissioner Lorraine Cochran-Johnson, Super District 7

.

Present	5 - Commissioner Robert Patrick, Commissioner Steve Bradshaw,
	Commissioner Mereda Davis Johnson, Commissioner Ted Terry,
	and Commissioner Lorraine Cochran-Johnson
Absent	2 - Commissioner Jeff Rader, and Commissioner Larry Johnson

Administration: Michael Thurmond, CEO, Zachary Williams, Executive Assistant/ Chief Operating Officer, Barbara Sanders-Norwood, County Clerk, Viviane Ernstes, County Attorney

Work Session

I. Committee of the Whole

A. Committee Reports

B. MARTA Quarterly Briefing

C. Review of the Proposed Executive Agenda for December 14, 2021

D. Review of Board of Commissioners Preliminary Agenda

II. Special Call Meeting

2021-3510

Commission District(s): All

To Convene a Special Called Meeting

MOTION was made by Lorraine Cochran-Johnson, seconded by Mereda Davis Johnson, that this agenda item be approved to convene a Special Call Meeting. Commissioner Jeff Rader and Commissioner Larry Johnson were absent from the meeting. The motion carried by the following vote:

Yes: 5 - Commissioner Robert Patrick, Commissioner Steve Bradshaw, Commissioner Mereda Davis Johnson, Commissioner Ted Terry, and Commissioner Lorraine Cochran-Johnson

Absent: 2 - Commissioner Jeff Rader, and Commissioner Larry Johnson

DeKalb County Government

2021	251	1
2021	-221	

To Convene an Executive Session Meeting

MOTION was made by Lorraine Cochran-Johnson, seconded by Mereda Davis Johnson, that this agenda item be approved to convene an Executive Session Meeting. Commissioner Jeff Rader and Commissioner Larry Johnson were absent from the meeting. The motion carried by the following vote:

Yes:	5 -	Commissioner Robert Patrick, Commissioner
		Steve Bradshaw, Commissioner Mereda Davis
		Johnson, Commissioner Ted Terry, and
		Commissioner Lorraine Cochran-Johnson
Absent:	2 -	Commissioner Jeff Rader, and Commissioner

Larry Johnson

2021-3512

Commission District(s): All

To Adjourn Executive Session.

MOTION was made by Robert Patrick, seconded by Ted Terry, that this agenda item be approved to adjourn an Executive Session Meeting. Commissioner Jeff Rader and Commissioner Larry Johnson were absent from the meeting. The motion carried by the following vote:

5 - Commissioner Robert Patrick, Commissioner
Steve Bradshaw, Commissioner Mereda Davis
Johnson, Commissioner Ted Terry, and
Commissioner Lorraine Cochran-Johnson
2 - Commissioner Jeff Rader, and Commissioner Larry Johnson

2021-3391

Commission District(s): 4 & 6

To consider consenting to the deannexation of property located at 4640 East

Ponce de Leon Avenue, Tucker, Georgia 30084.

MOTION was made by Ted Terry, seconded by Robert Patrick, that this agenda item be deferred to the next meeting, until December 14, 2021. The motion carried by the following vote:

Special Called Meeting	Meeting Minutes		December 7, 2021
	Yes:	 4 - Commissioner Robert Patrick, Commissioner Meres Steve Bradshaw, Commissioner Meres Johnson, and Commissioner Ted Teres 	reda Davis
	Absent:	 3 - Commissioner Jeff Rader, Commiss Johnson, and Commissioner Lorrain 	

Cochran-Johnson

2021-3514

Commission District(s): All

Proposed approval of (1) the State of Georgia and Local Governments Memorandum of Understanding Concerning National Distributor and Johnson & Johnson Opioid settlements; (2) the Subdivision Distributor Settlement Participation Form and (3) the Janssen Settlement Participation Form, for proposed national Opioid Settlements with Settling Distributors and Janssen.

MOTION was made by Mereda Davis Johnson, seconded by Robert Patrick, that this agenda item be approved to authorize the County Attorney or her designee to sign the following three documents on behalf of DeKalb County: (1) the State of Georgia and Local Governments Memorandum of Understanding Concerning National Distributor and Johnson & Johnson Opioid settlements; (2) the Subdivision Distributor Settlement Participation Form and (3) the Janssen Settlement Participation Form. By signing these three documents, DeKalb County agrees to the material terms of the proposed National Opioid Settlement Agreements with the Settling Distributors and Janssen, if the State of Georgia elects to enter into these settlements. The motion carried by the following vote:

- Yes: 5 Commissioner Robert Patrick, Commissioner Steve Bradshaw, Commissioner Mereda Davis Johnson, Commissioner Ted Terry, and Commissioner Lorraine Cochran-Johnson
- Absent: 2 Commissioner Jeff Rader, and Commissioner Larry Johnson

POLICY OF NON-DISCRIMINATION ON THE BASIS OF DISABILITY IN COUNTY SERVICES.

DeKalb County Government does not discriminate against qualified individuals with disabilities or exclude them from participating in or receiving benefits of its services, programs, or activities, based on disability. Janet Essix, DeKalb County Government's Employee Relations Manager and ADA Coordinator, is designated to coordinate the County's compliance with Part 35 of the Department of Justice regulations regarding the Americans with Disabilities Act. Janet Essix may be contacted at 1300 Commerce Drive, 1st Floor, Decatur, GA 30030, 404.371.2309, to request information about access for persons with disabilities to County services, programs and activities, or to discuss a grievance regarding an impediment to such access. Ten days' notice is requested for special accommodations.

ADJOURNMENT: There being no further official business, MOTION was made by Robert Patrick, seconded by Lorraine Cochran-Johnson, that this agenda item be approved to adjourn the December 7, 2021 Special Called Meeting at 12:08 p.m. The motion carried by the following vote:

- Yes: 5 Commissioner Robert Patrick, Commissioner Steve Bradshaw, Commissioner Mereda Davis Johnson, Commissioner Ted Terry, and Commissioner Lorraine Cochran-Johnson
- Absent: 2 Commissioner Jeff Rader, and Commissioner Larry Johnson

Stephen R. Bradshaw Presiding Officer

Michael Thurmond Chief Executive Officer

Barn And Bas

Barbara Sanders-Norwood County Clerk

2021 12.07 Special Called Minutes

Final Audit Report

2021-12-20

Created:	2021-12-16
By:	CHENAY BROWN (CBROWN@DEKALBCOUNTYGA.GOV)
Status:	Signed
Transaction ID:	CBJCHBCAABAA-fvaWAPWeOMFoidBHKM6bHT5SpYp72ff

"2021 12.07 Special Called Minutes" History

- Document created by CHENAY BROWN (CBROWN@DEKALBCOUNTYGA.GOV) 2021-12-16 - 10:30:17 PM GMT- IP address: 50.237.148.4
- Socument emailed to Michael L. Turmond (kwilborn@dekalbcountyga.gov) for signature 2021-12-16 - 10:30:49 PM GMT
- Email viewed by Michael L. Turmond (kwilborn@dekalbcountyga.gov) 2021-12-20 - 1:03:30 PM GMT- IP address: 104.47.65.254
- Document e-signed by Michael L. Turmond (kwilborn@dekalbcountyga.gov) Signature Date: 2021-12-20 - 1:04:50 PM GMT - Time Source: server- IP address: 50.237.147.4
- Document emailed to Barbara Sanders (bhsander@dekalbcountyga.gov) for signature 2021-12-20 - 1:04:53 PM GMT
- Email viewed by Barbara Sanders (bhsander@dekalbcountyga.gov) 2021-12-20 - 6:26:50 PM GMT- IP address: 174.254.57.40
- Document e-signed by Barbara Sanders (bhsander@dekalbcountyga.gov) Signature Date: 2021-12-20 - 6:27:08 PM GMT - Time Source: server- IP address: 174.254.57.40
- Agreement completed. 2021-12-20 - 6:27:08 PM GMT