

# **DeKalb County Government**

Manuel J. Maloof Center 1300 Commerce Drive Decatur, Georgia 30030

# Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: 2017-0687 Version: 1 Name:

Type: Resolution Status: Passed

File created: 7/26/2017 In control: Board of Commissioners

On agenda: 8/22/2017 Final action: 8/22/2017

Title: Commission District(s): 1, 5 & 6

Inclusion of the Cities of Stonecrest and Tucker in the HUD Urban County designation for DeKalb County for the three-year period, January 1, 2018 through December 31, 2020. There is No Cost to

The County.

Indexes:

Attachments: 1. Cooperation Agreements\_Stonecrest and Tucker

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
8/22/2017	1	Board of Commissioners	approved	Pass
8/15/2017	1	Committee of the Whole		

**Public Hearing: YES** □ **NO** ☑ **Department:** Community Development

**SUBJECT:** 

Commission District(s): 1, 5 & 6

Inclusion of the Cities of Stonecrest and Tucker in the HUD Urban County designation for DeKalb County for the three-year period, January 1, 2018 through December 31, 2020. There is No Cost to The County.

Information Contact: Allen Mitchell - Community Development Director

**Phone Number:** 404-371-2438

### **PURPOSE:**

To consider approving the Cooperation Agreements with the cities of Stonecrest and Tucker to be included as part of the HUD Urban County designation for DeKalb County for the three-year period, January 1, 2018 through December 31, 2020.

#### **NEED/IMPACT:**

The County is currently in the HUD Urban County requalification period for the years of 2018 through 2020.

During this period, the County must notify each included unit of general local government, where the County is authorized to undertake essential community development and housing assistance activities without consent of the governing body, of its right to elect to be included or excluded from participation in the Urban County designation during each requalification period.

The Cities of Stonecrest and Tucker have elected for the first time to be included as part of the Urban County designation for DeKalb County for the three-year period, January 1, 2018 through December 31, 2020.

The Cities of Brookhaven, Chamblee, Clarkston, Decatur, Doraville, Lithonia, and Stone Mountain are currently part of the Urban County designation and have elected to remain.

File #: 2017-0687, Version: 1

## **FISCAL IMPACT:**

There is no fiscal impact of cost to the County

# **RECOMMENDATION:**

To approve the Cooperation Agreements with the Cities of Stonecrest and Tucker to be included in the Urban County designation for DeKalb County for the three-year period, January 1, 2018 through December 31, 2020; and to authorize the Chief Executive Officer to execute all necessary documents.