

# **DeKalb County Government**

Manuel J. Maloof Center 1300 Commerce Drive Decatur, Georgia 30030

# **Legislation Text**

File #: 2017-1004, Version: 1

Substitute

**Public Hearing: YES** □ **NO** ⊠ **Department:** Tax Commissioner

**SUBJECT:** 

Commission District(s): All Commission Districts

Intergovernmental Agreement (IGA) between DeKalb County, The DeKalb County Tax Commissioner, and the Cities of Avondale Estates, Chamblee, Clarkston, Doraville, Lithonia, Pine Lake, Stonecrest, Stone Mountain and Tucker for the billing and collection of taxes and fees..

**Information Contact:** Nicole Marchand Golden

Phone Number: 404-298-3083

#### **PURPOSE:**

To consider approving certain intergovernmental agreements between the County, Tax Commissioner, and respective cities for the billing and collection of taxes, tax digest preparation, and fees on behalf of the respective cities and DeKalb County per O.C.G.A. Sect. 48-5-359.1. This substitute is offered to correct the dates on the IGAs to reflect "2018," the current year.

#### **NEED/IMPACT:**

This intergovernmental agreement governs the Tax Commissioner's billing and collection of taxes for DeKalb County businesses and residents, and signifies a mutually beneficial, efficient and cooperative working relationship between the County, Tax Commissioner, and respective city governments.

### **FISCAL IMPACT:**

There is no cost to the County. Costs are charged to the respective cities as governed by the attached IGAs.

#### **RECOMMENDATION:**

Adopt the attached intergovernmental agreements and authorize the Chief Executive Officer to execute all necessary documents.

## **TABLE OF CONTENTS**

- I. Intergovernmental Agreement (IGA) between DeKalb County, DeKalb County Tax Commissioner, and the City of Avondale Estates
- II. Intergovernmental Agreement (IGA) between DeKalb County, DeKalb County Tax Commissioner, and the City of Chamblee
- III. Intergovernmental Agreement (IGA) between DeKalb County, DeKalb County Tax Commissioner, and the City of Clarkston
- IV. Intergovernmental Agreement (IGA) between DeKalb County, DeKalb County Tax Commissioner, and the City of Doraville
- V. Intergovernmental Agreement (IGA) between DeKalb County, DeKalb County Tax Commissioner, and the City of Lithonia
- VI. Intergovernmental Agreement (IGA) between DeKalb County, DeKalb County Tax Commissioner, and the City of Pine Lake
- VII. Intergovernmental Agreement (IGA) between DeKalb County, DeKalb County Tax Commissioner, and the City of Stonecrest
- VIII. Intergovernmental Agreement (IGA) between DeKalb County, DeKalb County Tax Commissioner, and the City of Stone Mountain
- IX. Intergovernmental Agreement (IGA) between DeKalb County, DeKalb County Tax Commissioner, and the City of Tucker